Under Fortunate Stars by Ren Hutchings now out!

Under Fortunate Stars by SF Canada member Ren Hutchings is out now from Solaris: a sci-fi debut pitched for fans of Becky Chambers, Alex White and K.B. Wagers. Under Fortunate Stars is a space opera about accidental time travel and the perils of actually meeting your historical heroes.

Fleeing the final days of the generations-long war with the alien Felen, smuggler Jereth Keeven’s freighter the Jonah breaks down in a strange rift in deep space, with little chance of rescue—until they encounter the research vessel Gallion, which claims to be from 152 years in the future.

The Gallion‘s chief engineer Uma Ozakka has always been fascinated with the past, especially the tale of the Fortunate Five, who ended the war with the Felen. When the Gallion rescues a run-down junk freighter, Ozakka is shocked to recognize the Five’s legendary ship—and the Five’s famed leader, Eldric Leesongronski, among the crew.

But nothing else about Leesongronski and his crewmates seems to match up with the historical record. With their ships running out of power in the rift, more than the lives of both crews may be at stake.

You can get your copy of Under Fortunate Stars in hardcover, ebook or audiobook format here  and check out the book playlist here  — including an original music single inspired by the book: “The Flight of the Jonah” by Canadian folk-rock band The Burning Hell!

“An engaging space saga with time-travel twists, and a compelling look at how past and future are created not only by those who live it but those who record it.” – Library Journal (Starred Review)

You can find Ren online at renhutchings.com, and on social media as @voidcricket.

Cover reveal of Weekends Can Be Murder by Arlene Marks!

SF Canada member Arlene Marks will have a novel out in November! Weekends Can Be Murder is a paranormal mystery set in a Victorian-era summer home built on an island in Georgian Bay.

When murder mystery theatre becomes too real for comfort…

Firefighter Larry Holmes needs some time away. Out of other options, he agrees to take his cousin’s place at a crime fiction convention. Larry doesn’t like mystery novels, but he can enjoy the host resort’s amenities and stay out of the way. That plan goes out the window, however, when he arrives at the venue with the convention’s organizer, Selena Watt, and the close-knit Crime Club decides that with Holmes and Watt present, the game must be afoot.

Arlene is the creator of the ongoing Sic Transit Terra space opera series, among other current and upcoming novels. Her short fiction has appeared in various publications, including H.P. Lovecraft’s Magazine of Horror, Polar Borealis, and Daily Science Fiction, and has most recently been gathered into a collection titled Imaginary Friends (May 2022, Brain Lag). Her website is thewritersnest.ca.

Preorder Weekends Can be Murder today!

More accolades for Nina Munteanu’s A Diary in the Age of Water!

SFC member Nina Munteanu’s novel A Diary in the Age of Water (Inanna Publications, 2020) is listed along with seven other water-related eco-fiction novels worth reading in Mary Woodbury’s article “Where Waters and Fictions Meet” in Climate Culture.

About “A Diary in the Age of Water“, Woodbury writes, “This is the definitive novel about all things water.”

Also on the list are “Water Knife” by Paolo Bacigalupi, “Memory of Water” by Emmi Itäranta, “Bangkok Wakes to Rain” by Pitchaya Sudbanthad, “Oil on Water” by Helon Habila, “Fever Dream” by Samanta Schweblin, “Lagoon,” by Nnedi Okorafor, and “Land-Water-Sky” (Ndè-Tı-Yat’a) by Katłıà.

Find Nina at The Alien Next Door as well as on Twitter and LinkedIn and find Nina’s books on Amazon.ca.

New S&S stories by Geoff Hart!

SFC member Geoff Hart has just published a Fritz Leiber homage, with gender-swapped Fafhrd and the Grey Mouser and a few other flourishes, in Sword and Sorcery Magazine!

He’s also got a story in Crunchy with Ketchup — this one features Mouse with Freya!

Another story with the two protagonists is upcoming in Swords & Sorceries: Tales of Heroic Fantasy Volume 4, with a homage to M. Asterix and M. Obelix woven in!

Find more of Geoff’s work at geoff-hart.com

The Quiet Dead by Darke Conteur

SFC member Darke Conteur’s latest publication, The Quiet Dead, is a zombie thriller!

In the middle of a deadly pandemic, forty-five-year-old Jolene Sadler hides out at her trailer in Wasaga Beach with her daughter and a few neighbours. Mainly it’s to get away from her abusive ex, but as the world falls apart, it becomes a refuge where they can ride out the pandemic in relative security, but things are never what they seem.

The world descends into a chaotic madness and desperation seeps into the camp along with the virus. Rumours spread that the illness makes people go mad, but Jolene witnesses another frighting affliction firsthand; resurrection of the dead. To complicate matters, her ex arrives at the campground and she is forced her into an ugly confrontation. Soon, their haven devolves into a graveyard and she and her small group are forced out onto the open road with few supplies and even fewer options.

As her ex and the dead haunt their every step, their journey culminates into a showdown for their lives, but sometimes a bad situation can turn the tide, especially when hopelessness leaves Jolene with only one option.

Available at all ebook retailers.

Darke Conteur is a writer at the mercy of her Muse. The author of stories in several genres, she prefers to create within the realms of Science Fiction and Dark Fantasy. A pagan at heart, her personal goal is to find her balance within nature; exploring the dark through her stories and the light through her beliefs. When not writing, she spends her time collecting crystals, knitting, gardening, cooking and listening to very loud music. Find her at darkeconteur.wordpress.com

Michèle Laframboise makes a double splash in top SF magazines!

SF Canada member Michèle Laframboise achieved a rare feat this month with simultaneous publications in both Asimov’s and Analog science fiction magazines.

Born in July, Michèle considers the double publication as a fine birthday gift, especially since her name is featured on Asimov’s cover.

Michèle’s two stories are :

Currently on sale in kiosks and specialized bookshops.

Michèle also currently has stories out in OnSpec 119 (Alberta-based) and NeoOpsis 33 (BC-based). She is also regularly featured in the French SF magazines Solaris in Québec and Galaxies in France.

Michèle Laframboise is a long distance runner (she ran the virtual Chilly Half in February) with more than 60 published works.

She enjoys working full time on her passions, writing and drawing comics. She just indie-published Maîtresse des vents, the first YA graphic novel to be published at her own imprint Échofictions.

Her SF is like chocolate… hard and crunchy. Echofictions also offers already-published stories that are no longer available, in both French and English.

Recently, Michèle has put out a collection « 5 Hard and Crunchy SF tales », a collection of cacao-rich science fiction stories.