The Dream Rider Saga by Douglas Smith!

Douglas Smith has a new urban fantasy trilogy! All three books are written and will soon be available in bookstores.
The series is called THE DREAM RIDER SAGA, and the books are THE HOLLOW BOYS, THE CRYSTAL KEY, and THE LOST EXPEDITION. The series is targeted as Young Adult / Adult crossover, meaning it will appeal to all fans of urban fantasy from mid-teens up.
The first book in the trilogy, THE HOLLOW BOYS, is now available!

THE HOLLOW BOYS was released on all major book retailers on October 15, 2022. Go here to check out the amazing cover and the book description: https://books2read.com/b/thehollowboys. Select your preferred retailer, and you’ll be taken to the retailer’s store for your home country.

Find out more at smithwriter.com!

Tina Beier’s Rising Action Publishing Co. publishes Perils of Sea and Sky!

SF Canada member Tina Beier has been busy. Her publishing house, Rising Action Publishing Collective, a dedicated independent publisher committed to supporting diverse authors and stories, is soon releasing Norwegian writer Lilian Horn’s Perils of Sea and Sky!

In the early 1700s, the discovery of anti-gravity technology led to the development of the aeroship trade. But there is one area into which no sky captain dares to venture, and that is the Grey Veil: an inhospitable fog threatening the lives and sanity of all who enter. With the Veil under a strict travel-ban, most level-headed pilots circumvent this treacherous place. Captain Rosanne Drackenheart, on the other hand, makes a pretty penny conducting her smuggling operation through the very edge of the mysterious fog.

When she is blackmailed into searching for a lost warship, she is forced to venture into the untraversed bowels of the Veil. Rosanne must protect her crew from mystical creatures, defend against pirates gunning for her ship, and save herself from the creature known as the Forest Devil.

Featuring Scandinavian myths and steampunk elements, Perils of Sea and Sky is a thrilling high fantasy adventure.

“A rollicking adventure with innovative technology and characters you’d trust with your life—or your imagination!” —Shelley Adina, bestselling author of the Magnificent Devices steampunk series

“[Perils of Sea and Sky] is a riveting story that will keep readers glued to their seats until its satisfying conclusion.”  —BookList advanced review  
Releasing on Sept 20, 2022, you can order Perils of Sea and Sky at Rising Action!

Nothing Without Us Too now available!

SF member Cait Gordon is excited about her latest editing project. The Nothing Without Us Too anthology is officially released in ebook and paperback! This multi-genre collection contains stories by SFC members Bernadette Gabay Dyer and Holly Schofield along with 25 other tales. It follows the theme of Nothing Without Us (a 2020 Prix Aurora Award finalist), featuring more stories by authors who are disabled, d/Deaf or hard-of-hearing, Blind or visually impaired, neurodivergent, Spoonie, and/or who manage mental illness. The lived experiences of their protagonists are found across many demographics—such as race, culture, financial status, religion, gender, age, and/or sexual orientation. Cait and co-editor Talia Johnson want to present these stories because diversity is reality, and it belongs in literary and genre fiction.

So, whether you’re being welcomed to Sensory Hell by hotel staff, witnessing a stare-down between a convenience store worker and an arrogant vampire, or unsure if your social media account is magic, these tales can teleport you elsewhere yet resonate deep within.

Nothing Without Us Too is available from Renaissance Press and through https://49thshelf.com/Books/N/Nothing-Without-Us-Too

Short story by Melanie Marttila published in Pirating Pups!

SF Canada member Melanie Marttila’s short story, “Torvi, Viking Queen,” was recently published in Tyche BooksPirating Pups anthology. Edited by Rhonda Parrish and SFC member Margaret Curelas, the anthology contains thirteen daring “tails” of dogs, puns, and fun!

Enter a world of Barking Buccaneers, where piratical dogs sail the seas, seeking one tail-chasing adventure after another. Whether dealing with sea monsters, the doldrums, or bitter betrayal, these dogs have a true nose for adventure and always dig up their buried treasure.

Pirating Pups is available in a variety of formats at Tyche Books.

Melanie blogs at melaniemarttila.ca and lives in Sudbury, Ontario, with spouse and dog, in the house where three generations of her family have lived, on the street that bears her family name.

Under Fortunate Stars by Ren Hutchings now out!

Under Fortunate Stars by SF Canada member Ren Hutchings is out now from Solaris: a sci-fi debut pitched for fans of Becky Chambers, Alex White and K.B. Wagers. Under Fortunate Stars is a space opera about accidental time travel and the perils of actually meeting your historical heroes.

Fleeing the final days of the generations-long war with the alien Felen, smuggler Jereth Keeven’s freighter the Jonah breaks down in a strange rift in deep space, with little chance of rescue—until they encounter the research vessel Gallion, which claims to be from 152 years in the future.

The Gallion‘s chief engineer Uma Ozakka has always been fascinated with the past, especially the tale of the Fortunate Five, who ended the war with the Felen. When the Gallion rescues a run-down junk freighter, Ozakka is shocked to recognize the Five’s legendary ship—and the Five’s famed leader, Eldric Leesongronski, among the crew.

But nothing else about Leesongronski and his crewmates seems to match up with the historical record. With their ships running out of power in the rift, more than the lives of both crews may be at stake.

You can get your copy of Under Fortunate Stars in hardcover, ebook or audiobook format here  and check out the book playlist here  — including an original music single inspired by the book: “The Flight of the Jonah” by Canadian folk-rock band The Burning Hell!

“An engaging space saga with time-travel twists, and a compelling look at how past and future are created not only by those who live it but those who record it.” – Library Journal (Starred Review)

You can find Ren online at renhutchings.com, and on social media as @voidcricket.